Overcoming Writer Panic Attacks-A Brief Study

It has occurred to me that the whole point of having a blog is to actually write and post words occasionally. As a writer, this should come easily to me. Alas, it does not. Everything I write has to be “perfect.” Therefore, words stay in my head, or on 750words.com, or in a password-protected app on my iPad, never to see the light of day. If my ultimate goal is to be published, I need to smack myself around a little and put myself out there. I need to be BRAVE. I need to risk public ridicule. Oh geez, I’m already losing my nerve!

OK, deep breaths. The real problem is that I am plagued with the conviction that although I am called to write, I am not all that skilled at it. No, that is not quite right. I think I am somewhat skilled, but not enough to STAND OUT. There are so many incredibly gifted, talented writers out there, and really – what makes little old me special? I posted such a question on Twitter recently in the midst of a Writer Panic Attack. I must say, the responses were interesting. Other writers admitted to similar feelings, which of course made me feel better. (Misery loves company, I suppose).

But my favorite responses clarified something fascinating: I am a unique person with unique experiences. Therefore, I have something to offer that no one else does. And if you are a writer, the same applies to you. How cool is that? (Answer: very). So, let’s get out there and show the world our stuff. If I can do it, so can you.

Happy Blogging! 🙂 Kendra

20120711-224059.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Overcoming Writer Panic Attacks-A Brief Study

  1. Shar says:

    Thanks for sharing. I often have the same thoughts as you.

  2. Kim says:

    I felt the same way when I started !! and sometimes still do. Look how terrified I was to post my first official author interview.. I almost peed my pants!!

    Keep on writing!!

    xoxoxo

  3. You are your won worst critic, we all are. You don’t have to strive to be a NY best times book seller, but rather strive to finish a short story, etc. Because you’re doing what you love, only positive things will come from it. It’s kind of like a baby learning to walk, if they only focus on driving a car, then they will have a hard time walking, because they’re not going to be fulfilled. Just do what you can, share as much as possible. Unfortunately, there will be tons of rejections in your life as a writer, but the more you put yourself out there, lends itself to more approval. Keep writing lady xoxo

  4. Brava! Everyone has a story and a unique voice. I’ve come to realize that writing is a gift that requires constant work, revision, and dedication. Yes, some are more eloquent than others; however, talent alone doesn’t guarantee success. Talent without work produces nothing. Getting over the fear of rejection and desire to write the “perfect” _______ are key to finding and exercising the muse. Writing consistently will ameliorate these obstacles. More than one writer has told me to write daily and to always have fun. Let’s do it!

  5. 2old2tap says:

    I feel that way a lot. Good post. Gives me something to think about and motivate with.

Leave a Reply

