Thirty Days of Writing

During the month of September, I participated in the monthly writing challenge on 750words.com. Thirty straight days of writing at least 750 words. The words could be anything I wanted: journal writing, creative writing, venting, anything.

Image

I am proud to say I did it! Thirty straight days of writing. It was both easier and harder than I expected. And here is what I learned: 

1) Writing every day is vitally important to keep the creative juices flowing.

2) Writing every day is like any other habit – when you don’t feel like doing it one day, do it anyway. You’ll be happy you did. You will never regret it afterward. Hmm, sounds like exercising.

3) Writing is hard.

4) Writing is fun, and rewarding, and wonderful.

5) Some of my stuff is terrible and can’t be redeemed. Other pieces have real promise. I usually feel a writer’s high during the latter.

6) Writing every day just to say you did it every day is not necessarily the best approach. Getting the words on paper is not enough. You need to spend time editing and polishing and FINISHING stories, blog posts, etc.

7) I freaking love my new MacBook Air.

8) I can actually, truly call myself a writer now. The proverbial lightbulb went off.

9) Writing is so good for the soul. It’s cathartic. And sometimes you don’t know what’s been bothering you until you do a braindump.

10) I want to make this my life, not just a hobby. Yes, I do. I know this now.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thirty Days of Writing

  1. Congrats on writing for 30 days straight. I try to write everyday, but usually the weekends derail me.

  2. JohnnyHonesty says:

    Inspirational. Beautiful. Makes me want to write more.

Leave a Reply

